It’s been over a year now since Georgia passed its hands-free driving law, becoming the 16th state at the time to do so. Yet there are still many distracted drivers in Atlanta that haven’t gotten the memo. Keep yourself and others safe by being a responsible citizen and abiding by the following laws:
- While driving, you can’t hold a phone in your hand or hold it up by any part of your body.
- Don’t write, read, or send text messages, e-mails, social media content or other internet data. Voice to text is allowed as long as you’re hands-free.
- No watching videos while driving, including GPS and navigational videos.
- Other than a continuously running dash cam, it’s illegal to use any device to record video while driving
Penalties for the Violators of Georgia’s Hands-Free Law
The fine for a first conviction is $50.00 and 1 point on your driver’s license. For the second conviction there’s a $100.00 and 2 points given. If you’re convicted three or more times, you’ll be charged with a $150.00 and 3 points on your driving record, if the offense was within 24 months of the date of the first conviction.
With the law being effective for some time now and people still not complying, law enforcement isn’t as likely to issue a verbal warning to offenders. However, first-time offenders may be able to get their charge dropped by providing to the court that they have obtained a hands-free talking device since the incident occurred.
Understanding Georgia Driving Laws
For more help understanding Georgia’s driving laws and your rights, you can contact Race Law Firm of Atlanta. We can help you through court proceedings or advise you on what to do if you’re the victim of an auto accident that involved a driver not being hands-free.
Posted on behalf of
5555 Glenridge Connector Suite 550
Atlanta, GA 30342
Phone: (404) 751-4720Mon.-Fri.: 9am-5pm